FB Group Privacy

🏠 > Facebook Groups > Groups Privacy

Facebook Group Privacy options

One of the most important decisions you have to make when starting a new Facebook Group happens (unfortunately) right at the very beginning. 

Do you make your Group Public or Private?

  1. Public: Your Group and its content are “public and visible in search” results. If you decide on Public you can change to Private in the future.

  2. Private: Your Group then choose between “Private and visible” OR “Private and hidden” in search.

    Group Admins do have the option to switch between Private “Visible” or “Hidden” when they choose.

Important Note: If you decide on a Private Group, it can NOT be changed to Public.

More info on Facebook Group privacy is 👉 Meta help centre here.

Alt text: Screen shots of the Privacy options when you create a new Facebook Group.

Daniel Doherty

My name is Daniel Doherty, I was a Community Strategist at Meta, where I worked on Facebook Groups between 2019-2023. I supported 30,000 of our top Group Admins who lead some of the most engaged Groups on Facebook. More about my background and events experience here.

https://dand.ai/daniel
Previous
Previous

Biggest FB Groups

Next
Next

How many can I join?